Inside Out Breakfast Pie.

Funny thing. I made this breakfast pie over the weekend and I totally messed it up! But it turned out ok as it was or you can fix the mistake I made if you are going to make it. I call it inside out because I am getting all of the ingredients together and I am quite worried about the potato crust. Primarily I am worried about it because the one time I tried to make Pommes Anna (which by the way happened to be on Christmas Eve), it was a disaster. So I was quite worried about using potatoes as a crust! Anyway back to the point, I get the whole thing prepared and go to put it in the oven and shoot! The cheese is on the counter. Not mixed into the eggs…on the counter, so I just put it on top. I do not recommend doing this, please mix it into the eggs! But if you forget, you too will have an inside out pie.

Overall this one was a standard breakfast casserole, but it had a potato crust to it that jazzed it up a bit.

Ingredients

2 medium yellow potatoes (about 6 ounces)

4 crimini mushrooms

1/2 small red pepper

1 handful of raw baby spinach

7 egg whites

5 egg yolks

1/2 C milk (I used 1%, but I really don’t think it matters, use what you have)

3 oz cheese (I used gruyere)

1 t kosher salt

1 t ground pepper

2 t unsalted butter

Slice the potatoes evenly or use a mandolin to ensure uniformity. Dry slices on a clean kitchen towel. Spray a pie dish with non stick spray or grease it as you please. Arrange the potatoes, overlapping slightly. Melt butter in the microwave for 20 seconds and use a brush to cover the potatoes with the butter. Cover the potatoes with foil, being sure to push down on the foil to keep the potatoes flat. Put in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. After 15 minutes remove the foil so the top crisps up a little. Remove from the oven and reduce heat to 350.

All the potatoes to cool as you prepare the filling. Mix all remaining ingredients, including the cheese! into a mixing bowl. Pour over the crust and put back into the oven for 40 minutes. If the pie jiggles at all at the end of 40 minutes, keep it in for 10 minutes more.

That’s brunch!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Eggs, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

