Super Bowl Yummies.

I have always wanted to make blinis with some sort of seafood topping. Blinis are Russian pancakes and are often eaten at breakfast or used as a canvass for an appetizer. Think little pancake topped with some sort of seafood mousse, a dollop of cream or cheese, and a sprig of green herb.

What better opportunity to do this than Super Bowl. There is a party, an audience, and an obligation to make appetizers. However, I got to thinking about it and I really did not want to slave all day over dishes that I would inevitably not be able to keep fresh and warm, let alone be able to assemble and get to our destination in a single piece. So I made an alternative, a healthy compromise. I made Cucumber Canapes instead. These are simple, even to a fault of being boring. But these little morsels were delicious.

Ingredients

2 English cucumbers

16 oz Smoked Salmon

3 oz goat cheese

1/4 C greek yogurt

1/4 C sour cream

1 T fresh lemon juice

1 T fresh dill, chopped and sprigs for toppers

Salt & pepper to taste

Combine goat cheese, yogurt, sour cream, lemon juice, salt and pepper in a bowl with a fork. Make sure to get it really mixed well. Slice cucumbers into uniform slices about 1/4 inch thick. Arrange on serving platter and place a small piece of salmon on each slice. Using two tea spoons, put a dollop of the cheese on each canape. Top with dill sprig.

I also made something divine I found on Healthy Food for Living. I will not leave the recipe here, but I will tell you to make this dish! I accompanied it with apple slices and some Pumpkin bread I made last night.

Go Steelers!

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizer, Seafood

Leave a Reply

