Veggie Yakisoba.

I LOVE yakisoba. Fried noodles. Mixed with cabbage, carrots, amazing sauce. The best yakisoba I have had is at the Portland Saturday Market. I go to the market just to eat noodles. But as with many other Asian dishes, I struggle with replicating them in the restaurant way that makes them soooo good.

I have an idea, whenever I try to make fried rice or something like yakisoba I CROWD the pan. When you go out for Chinese or Japanese food, they make it to order. They cook one serving at a time. But this is not how we cook at home. We cook to get it made, get the family fed, get the dishes done. So tonight I cooked this noodle dish one serving at a time to replicate the scrumptious, delightful yakisoba that I get at the market. The other problem, of course with replication of foods made in restaurants, is equipment. For some reason they just don’t make residential kitchens the same as commercials ones!! Ha. But I think that avoiding the crowded pan will help with this too.

Veggie Yakisoba.

Ingredients (Per serving…these are restaurant sized servings, one served us both!)

10 oz fresh Yakisoba noodles

3 oz green cabbage, roughly chopped

1 medium carrot, julienned

1 oz bean sprouts

2 T peanut, coconut or olive oil

2 T soy sauce

1 t toasted sesame oil

1 T rice vinegar

Process

Prepare vegetables and set aside. Combine soy sauce, sesame oil and vinegar in a small bowl with fork. Set aside. Heat oil in large saute pan or wok over medium-high heat. Add vegetables and sauce, move veggies to the edges of the pan and add noodles. Cover for 5 minutes. Remove cover and toss to coat noodles with sauce.

If the pan is not hot enough to fry the noodles a little, turn it up more. You want the pan really hot, but you don’t want the noodles and veggies to burn. Toss frequently for 5-10 minutes until the noodles are as fried as you like. I prefer mine quite fried together so I let them go a little, I just made sure to keep the majority of the veggies on top of the noodles so they did not burn.

This was about the fastest one pot meal! You could jazz it up with some sesame chicken or some shrimp.

Enjoy…I did!

Some yakisoba resources that I liked:

http://shizuokagourmet.wordpress.com/2009/09/07/japanese-cuisine-yakisoba-the-basics/

http://japanesefood.about.com/od/yakisoba/a/aboutyakisoba.htm

1 Comment

Filed under Asian Inspired, Dairy Free, Vegan, Vegetables, Vegetarian

One response to “Veggie Yakisoba.

  1. Yum I love yakisoba and yours looks amazing! All the veggies in it are just great. Thanks for linking up to my pasta blog hop! Pinned :-)

Leave a Reply

