Polish Popsicles, Pickle Style.

A simple google search has revealed to me that the term Polish Popsicle is likely uniquely a family title. I found this recipe online listed under Green Onion Wraps, Cream Cheese Pickles, and simply stated as Onion Wraps.

Every year my family has a reunion, The Family Gathering, as it is known to us. Each year 60-100 or so people would ascend on my grandparent’s house, and now on my father’s, to eat potluck, play whiffle ball, sip adult beverages, and eventually sit around a bon fire or watch fireworks. The memories of this day will be forever vivid in my mind. It is a great and oddly unique family tradition. While many families talk about having a reunion, or have one once in a while, my family has unfailingly held their gathering every summer for as long as I have been alive.

Over the years I have observed that the same people bring the same dishes every year. Aunt Mary makes taco salad, Aunt Barb makes potato salad and Polish popsicles, my family makes ribs, chicken, corn on the cob, and a mess of other items (it is the host house after all), cousin Cindy makes jello (for adults and the kiddies), and the list goes on. But the Polish popsicles have a very soft spot in my heart. Once made only with green onions, there are now more pickle ones than onion ones! The pickles just won out.

So simple, so delicious, and so full of nostalgia. Sometimes you just don’t get scratch from this girl.

Microwave cream cheese and use a spatula to carefully spread on the meat slices. Quarter pickles. Wrap in meat.

5 Comments

Filed under Appetizer, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Midwest Inspired, Snacks

5 responses to “Polish Popsicles, Pickle Style.

  1. Nathan Schneider

    Last night, I did a google search for “Polish Popsicle” and your website was the only hit I received. I was quite surprised. My wife mentioned to me that she had never heard of a “Polish Popsicle” before she met me. It has been a staple at my family gatherings for as long as I can remember. My grandmother is the one who started the tradition but I think it came down to her from her relatives. She makes them a bit differently than you do. She uses green onions and some kind of chipped beef. I think they are delicious. I’m curious to find out more information about the origin of this term and just how unique it is. Maybe we’re distant relatives or something! :) Do you mind if I ask where your family originates? Her family came from Northern Michigan, where many Polish immigrants resided. I hope to hear from you soon.

  2. Yes, as I mention our family too made these only with green onions at one point. The kids tend to prefer the pickles and so it was born to be made a different way, but not until well into the late 90s or early 2000s! I am not sure of the origins of this recipe within our family, or the possibility of how the recipe looked when it first showed up, perhaps it also used a dried or chipped beef (makes sense). I wish my grandmother was alive today to ask.

    My grandmother was Slovakian, came into the country through Chicago and did not make it farther north than Free Soil, MI which is about 115 miles north of Grand Rapids. I am not sure that this would have come from my grandfather’s side. His lineage is a bit confusing to me, but he is more of the Germanic descent than Polish.

    It is interesting how these things possibility interrelate.

  3. ryan plummer

    My father was known for bringing polish popsicles to family gatherings. It was the onion, lunch meat, cream cheese one. I have taken on the title of Polish Popsicle guy now. I bring them to family get-togethers, work pot lucks & cook outs with friends. I wanted to share that my origins of growing up learning of this recipe was in Shelby, Michigan. A small town north of Grand Rapids much like Becky wrote about Free Soil.

  4. Nathan Schneider

    VERY interesting. Another person familiar with the Polish Popsicle. My family is also from Grand Rapids. We did our exactly like you. Green onion, lunch meat, cream cheese and some kind of dried beef. It’s always been a family favorite of ours.

  5. K. Stasiak

    My mother- in-law passed the Polish popsicle tradition on to me, and we make both the onion and the pickle varieties! She hails from a background which was completely pure Polish, and never anyplace other than Detroit and surrounding suburbs. I wonder if this is mainly a Michigan gig?

Leave a Reply

