Failed Granola Bars = Most Amazing Granola!

Revised! Made this again today and made some tweaks. I am sticking with the original mistake for baking, it actually ensures the granola sticks together better. I also made a procedural change that gave the agave more effective. The first batch is gone already, the hubs has been eating it on yogurt every day. I have to say I tried that myself and was quite impressed!

——

I am in love with this granola I made this past weekend. I set out to make the hubs some granola bars. He likes them for breakfast and I thought I could make them healthier and for less money than the store bought version. So I set out on Sunday to do just that, and I failed! The flavors were great, but the bars did not hold together and I ended up with granola…almost. So I baked the bars for 30 minutes, but used agave instead of honey. I think this where I went wrong, there was not enough glue to hold the bars together, even after cooling in the freezer. Inevitably, when the nearly frozen mix thawed, it all fell apart.

So I give you a fantastic granola recipe that is healthy and easy to make. I am sure I will revisit this venture and you may see a bar recipe out of me yet, but rest assured it will not contain honey, I will think of something….mollassas maybe?

Ingredients

2 1/2 c steel cut oats

3/4 c almonds

1/2 c dried blueberries

1/3 c flax seeds

1/2 c butter, melted

1/3 c agave

1/3 c chocolate, peanut butter, or other chips

Preheat oven to 325. Combine the dry ingredients, mixing well. Add agave and stir well, it will seem like there is not enough so just keep stirring until everything is coated. Add butter and mix to completely combine. Put into a foil lined 8×8 dish and bake for 25 minutes. Remove and place in the freezer for about an hour. Turn the granola out onto a silpat lined baking sheet. You can also use foil with a little cooking spray on it. Cook for 30 minutes stirring 15 minutes through, then cook another 10 minutes. Adjust time as needed. Allow to cool and store in an air tight container. BUT…be sure to snack while it is still hot….SO. GOOD. I also encourage ingredient replacement, use cranberries, or pecans….or if you must, honey!!

Final product!

Love!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Grains/Rice, Outside of the Box, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

