Dressing Up Boxed Brownies.

Everyone loves a brownie right? I know I do. But I have not felt inclined to attempt scratch brownies since I was a child. I distinctly remember being home after school, unsupervised. During this time in my life when I was likely a bit too young to be home after school, a bit too mischievous to be unsupervised for two hours, I had a habit of concocting foods and potions. Particularly with my best childhood friend, who lived only 4 doors down the street, Katy. We would mix anything together to see what would happen. In all honesty we are very lucky we didn’t mix the wrong combo and blow something up!

With regards to food, most often this involved the Easy Bake oven, but for me this day after school did not involve the almost harmless, 100 watt light bulb driven “oven”. Today I was going to make brownies in the microwave. It was simple really, mix cocoa powder, eggs, sugar, and probably something else into a metal loaf pan and put in the microwave. No worries, right? Hahaha! Luckily I did not blow up my mother’s microwave, I removed the pan before that could happen, probably due to a short attention span. And so the brownies never did cook and set up!

The moral of the story is that I have really never been terribly motivated to try again. I usually go with the box on this one. So, in typical fashion I picked up a box of dark chocolate brownies, but in atypical fashion I have decided that these brownies were going to step outside of their box a little! There are so many ways we could do this that I will have to do this a few times!

I am curious though, who else has done this? Anyone have any recipes they want to share? Let us know!

Ingredients

1 box brownie mix

1/2 c Stout (or whatever the water measurement and half of the oil is on your box)

1 c white, milk or dark chocolate chips

1 c blueberries or huckleberries

Make brownie mix to box directions, substituting the water and half of the oil for stout. Fold in chips and berries. Bake as directed on box. Please note though that I ended up baking these almost 15 minutes longer than directed to get them to set up. The beer made this process take a little longer than normal.

Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Dessert

2 responses to “Dressing Up Boxed Brownies.

  1. Lisa Finn

    Metal loaf pan in my microwave???? Seriously?!

  2. Yeah, you know which one I am talking about? :)

Leave a Reply

