Grilled Ginger Teriyaki Chicken.

A lot of what we eat in my house is Mexican inspired, but I would say that outside of my recent comfort food explosion, we also eat a lot of loosely Asian inspired food. I say loosely because most of what we eat in America and in my house is not what I ate when I was in China.

One of the most vivid food memories I have from my trip to China was borne out of jet lagged delirium.The first night we arrived after our 16 hour flight from San Francisco to Beijing we were hungary!

Our hotel was basically inside of a shopping mall. So we ventured into the hubbub, eyes bugging out as we passed gentlemen in full suits and ties running on treadmills in a gym. We passed shops full of brightly color clothing made of silk, or cheap knock off materials. There was just about every type of electronic you could think of. Eventually we found the food court and for the equivalent of $0.50 or $1.00 we got large bowls of rice, meat, and vegetables. I think I will always remember my first bite of that rice. It was a short fat rice like Arborio, however, I cannot be sure what variety it was. It was cooked perfectly with a little tooth and seasoned in the most divine manner. The flavor washed over my mouth and I spent the entire meal seeking that first bite sensation again. I don’t even remember what vegetables were served with the rice or even if there was a protein.

But I don’t really make rice all that well and when I do, it does not even resemble Chinese rice. So I opted to make Asian inspired chicken thighs instead. As I ate this chicken I closed my eyes and thought of China! Someday I will learn how to make rice the way they do in China.

This chicken is enough for four people. If you want to feed more go ahead and double it!

Ingredients

Marinade

1/2 c teriyaki sauce

1/4 c rice wine vinegar

1/4 c Yoshidas Gourmet Original sauce

1/4 c soy sauce

2 T olive oil

1 t toasted sesame oil

1 inch ginger, peeled and chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1/4 t crushed red pepper

8 chicken thighs

Mix marinade ingredients in bowl or bag, making sure all components get combined. Add 8  chicken thighs (I used boneless/skinless). Refrigerate overnight or longer, I left mine for almost two full days before they were grilled.

Chicken

Soak skewers in water for 30 minutes if using bamboo. I used 8 inch skewers and put two thighs on each one. If your skewers are thin you may want to use two for each kabob.

Put chicken on skewers and place in refrigerator until the grill is to temperature. Grill over medium-high heat for 20 minutes turning every 5 minutes.

I love grilling!

Leave a comment

Filed under Asian Inspired, Chicken, Dairy Free, Grilling

Leave a Reply

