A Tale of Two Breakfasts – Chapter 1: The Waffle Sandwich.

There are many types of breakfast foods. Some people like a cold bowl of cereal that won’t weight them down, while others prefer a heavy, hot filling meal. I like all of the options personally, but this weekend we ran the gamut of options with a heavy, porky option on Saturday and a light, eggy option on Sunday.

The first was the Waffle Sandwich. For some reason this one just screams indulgence in my head. There really are no ingredients that are overly indulgent here, jut your standard breakfast ingredients: eggs, bacon, cheese, waffles. But for me it is the way the hubs proposed assembling the ingredients that just seems out of this world to me. He asked me to make a sandwich out of the fixins and panini them! Oh yes, I said panini them!

Simple enough I say, and so that is what I made for breakfast this Saturday! The only additions he made or would have made was some hot sauce…which is always added to his breakfast and some gravy, which I did not make. But I have to agree, given the substance of this sandwich with waffles on either side, a cup of gravy on the side would have been amazing.

Ingredients and procedure.

Waffles, I use Bob's Red Mill Pancake & Waffle Mix. This is my favorite mix.

Eggs, about two scrambled eggs per whole sandwich.

Bacon, about four fried slices per sandwich. I use Fletchers Thick Cut Peppered, so if your bacon is really thin, you might want to do extra slices! Shredded cheese, I used some monterey jack here because it is so creamy and melty.

Fry your bacon and set aside. Make your waffles and scrambled eggs. Preheat your panini pan.

Assemble the sandwich.

Start with a waffle

Add cheese.

Add bacon.

Add eggs.

Add more cheese.

Add another waffle.

Panini.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Eggs, Panini, Pork, Sandwich

Leave a Reply

