Sausage & Mushroom Breakfast Muffins.

These little breakfast morsels were something to write home about! They were fairly quick and easy to make and offer an on-the-go, compact breakfast option for busy weekdays. Or, if you wish, they are a more creative way to eat biscuits and gravy for a weekend brunch!

Let me explain.

The muffins in and of themselves are great. But in typical fashion for my house, breakfast is not compete without gravy (according to the hubs). Sitting with his muffins in front of him, still piping hot from the oven, the hubs takes his first bite of the airy, light, cheesy muffin and states, “It’s like biscuits and gravy, but without the gravy.” So up I go and make up a quick white gravy and plop it down in front of him. I hear a dunk and a “yum!” Yup, they needed something, I was thinking salt, but Mr Waffle Sandwich was thinking something with a little more substance and he was right about one thing, the gravy really did make it seem like portable biscuits and gravy.

Even if you don’t want to make up the gravy, have no fear, these muffins are great on their own. They are even better the next day warmed in the microwave, don’t even need butter due to the moisture they retained. I was inspired to make this version of breakfast muffins by my dislike of peppers that were in the last version I made. Something about the cooked peppers turned me off to them. I think it was the texture. Although they were very good and were well liked by others, they were not has comforting and scrumptious to my palate as I had craved. So I started thinking about my perfect breakfast muffin morsel, what would be in it, what would make it so good to me? I came up with this recipe as an answer to those questions. And though I try to include as much veg in my meals as I can, especially breakfast, where it seems to get left out often, it was not going to find its way into my perfect muffins!

This recipe made 24 muffins, filled full!

Ingredients

3 c flour

1 T baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

1 t kosher salt

1 t freshly ground black pepper

1 t granulated garlic

2 eggs, beaten

1 c buttermilk

3/4 c milk

3 T butter, melted

1/2 lb bulk pork breakfast sausage (I used sage)

5 oz crimini mushrooms, about 12 small

8 oz cheese, shredded (I used cheddar and swiss)

2 T chives

Preheat oven to 375.

Cook sausage and set aside to drain on paper towel. Chop mushrooms and chives. Grate cheese. In a large bowl combine dry ingredients, mixing to make sure the ingredients are evenly distributed in the bowl. Add butter, eggs, and both milks. Mix to combine. Add remaining ingredients and combine.

Line a muffin tin with paper liners and spray with non-stick cooking spray. FIll each cup at least 3/4 of the way full. Bake for 25 minutes. Remove from oven and muffin tin and cool on a wire rack. Let the muffins cool before trying to peel off the paper liners otherwise they will stick. Store in an air tight container in the refrigerator.

Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Bread, Breakfast, Cheese, Pork

One response to “Sausage & Mushroom Breakfast Muffins.

  1. kunstlerinmom

    These muffins looks amazing!! I have to try them! :)

Leave a Reply

