Grilled Garlicky Smashed Potatoes.

I recently read this recipe on Serious Eats. It is so much fun. We have been grilling potato sticks for some time, even made grilled potato salad, but this is new for us. It was fun to have potatoes on the grill in a new way. That said, I did have one complication…the smashing part! The potatoes just fell apart when I used my hand, so I resorted to using heavy bottomed glass, which actually worked rather well.

I see many variations of this side dish in my future, especially with summer right around the corner. These potatoes could even be substituted for the more time consuming ones I use in my grilled potato salad (yes I will share the recipe, though it is not my own…it was too good to change!). This was just a great, healthy side.

Ingredients

12 baby red potatoes

2 T olive oil

2 cloves of garlic, minced

2 T chive, finely chopped

salt and pepper to taste

Scrub potatoes and put them in a pan. Cover them with cold water, just to the top of the potatoes. Heat over high heat to a boil and maintain the boil for 10 minutes. Remove from the pan and cool on a cutting board. Allow to cool about 10-20 minutes. While the potatoes cool, combine the rest of the ingredients in a dish and set aside. When the potatoes are cool enough to handle smash with the palm of your hand or the bottom of a jar, glass, or measuring cup taking care not to smash them apart. You want the skins to continue holding them as one potato.

Grill over medium-high heat for 5 minutes on each side, basting with the garlic oil.

Enjoy with hamburgers!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Grilling, Potatoes, Side Dish, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

