Mom’s Cream Cheese Croissant Cookies.

This post is long overdue. I had intended to make these weeks ago but did not get around to getting out and purchasing any of the needed ingredients…all four of them. These cookies are like little bits of heaven that we only ever had at our house at Christmastime. Once a year my mom would break out this recipe and win over our little hearts with very little effort. I have replicated her dish here with only one difference. I have used a glazed stoneware baking dish (Le Creuset), while she used an exposed stone baking dish (Pampered Chef).

These are best served cold and once you try them you will see exactly what I mean. This might be why she always made them in the winter, they would be no good at a picnic because they would warm up too much.

Ingredients

2 packages of croissants, I used the whole sheet stuff they have now

2 8 oz packages of cream cheese, I used 1/3 less fat

2 C powdered sugar

2 t vanilla

Preheat oven to 375.

Bring cream cheese to room temperature by leaving on the counter. Do not microwave. Using a hand mixer blend vanilla and cream cheese together in a large mixing bowl. Add powdered sugar making sure to work out any clumps and mix until the batter is smooth. Spray a 9×13 baking dish with nonstick spray and lay out one sheet of the croissants. Using a rubber spatula spread batter evenly over the croissants. Cover with the second sheet of croissants. Bake for 30 minutes. Allow cookies to cool on the counter, cover and place in the refrigerator overnight.

Cut bars and enjoy!

11 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Midwest Inspired, Mom's Recipes, Vegetarian

11 responses to “Mom’s Cream Cheese Croissant Cookies.

  1. Sarah

    This is lovely! Thank you for sharing.

  2. Chelsea Norman

    I know this sounds crazy, but I’ve been looking for this recipe everywhere ! I had it at a brunch once, and even tried to re-create it, but failed (I used only cream cheese)! Thanks!

  3. Chelsea I am so glad to have helped. I love that you have had these before. I have never seen them outside of my mother’s house, but my husband said he thought they could easily be dressed up for a brunch!! Enjoy!

  4. These look easy and delicious! I’m the same way about remembering to make things, even if I go to the grocery store 10 times I always forget to buy what I actually need!

  5. Annemarie

    I love these, we make a version with cinnamon in the filling and add butter and cinnamon sugar to the top in the 10 minutes of baking! My family calls them “Sopapilla Cheesecake Squares”

  6. Annemarie

    sorry, ***last 10 minutes of baking***

  7. Oh Annemarie that sounds awesome! I am going to have to try this and tell my mom too so she can make a version of it for Christmas. I just love cinnamon.

  8. Thanks for the recipe, I’ve been waiting to make this and we’re having a potluck tomorrow so I did the deed! I made a chocolate variation, adding 122g of Ghiradelli semi-sweet chips into the cream cheese, and a sprinkle of cream cheese on top. Looks fantastic and the cream cheese tasted great from the sample I took…Ultra rich (which means small servings will work out perfectly).

  9. Nicole

    These are so simple and delicious! I also got a bag of frozen strawberries and let them thaw, smashed them up and layered that in with the cream cheese filling. So good!

  10. Cheryl

    I’ll be these would be divine with cherry pie filling on top!

  11. JL

    I tried these with dulce de leche (until sweetness was to my liking) and a pinch of salt in place of the powdered sugar. Fantastic! Thanks for an easy prep dessert.

Leave a Reply

