Homemade Beef Jerky.

Beef jerky is one of those über addicting things for me. Once I start munching I might as well just admit that I have committed to eating the entire bag of the stuff. This is great and well except that beef jerky is expensive. The other part of this is that I am not alone in my household in this addicition. The hubs has the same problem, maybe even more so than me! As you can imagine we are very carful to limit the entrance of jerky into our house. We generally reserve jerky munching for trips to the butcher where we can buy it fresh. Except of course for when we make it ourselves.

To answer to addicition and lack of spare change lying around for unlimited amounts of jerky we very early on in our relationship developed a homemade jerky recipe. In 2006 the hubs got me a food dehydator for my birthday. I had not previously thought of dehydrating food and honestly wondered what the heck I was going to do with it. During the summer of 2004 I had forayed into canning a bit and found it quite difficult. I am not sure if it was because I was so young and could not fully appreciate food preservation or because I was just bored waiting for the long process and the not so tasty result, but either way it had turned me off a bit to preserving food. Enough so that drying food had not entered my psyche up to this point.

Feeling obligated to try the new contraption I went out and bought a ton of Hood River bing cherries. I read the instructions carefully and prepared the cherries and started the dehydrator. The directions were very specific not to open the dehydrator while it was in the process. So I waited many hours and finally opened the top only to find that the once plump luscious cherries had been dehydrated of every last drop of water. Sucked completely dry they were barley even there anymore. Just little shrivels of skin was really all that was left. Nope, I did not like the dehydrator!

The hubs suggested we try making beef jerky. Maybe that would go better…it did, eventually, but not first without the same result of crispy dried beef as we had witness with the cherries. However, the end result of the homemade jerky has been wonderful. Fresh beef jerky that we can feel self control (most of the time) eating because we had to work to make it!

Ingredients

2 lbs London Broil roast (leanest you can find)

1.5 C  Serrano Chili soy sauce

2-4 Serrano chilis (from soy sauce)

1 C Teriakyi sauce

1/2 C Worcestershire

1 t red pepper chili flake

1/4 C Yoshidas Original Gourmet

Trim roast of all visible fat. Slice into thin strips, no more than 1/4 inch thick. Then cut them in half.

Place meat in a gallon plastic bag. Combine marinade ingredients in a bowl or directly in bag with meat. Seal bag and massage. Place refrigerator for 24 hours or more.

Remove meat from bag and marinade and arrange on the grates of an electric dehydrator.

Dehydrate for 10 hours, unless you cut your meat too thick or thin, then you will need to adjust based on the doneness you see. Store in a ziplock bag or air tight container in the refrigerator. I am not sure how long this will last because we only have it around for about two weeks before it is gone, but I would say several weeks.

Enjoy!

7 Comments

Filed under Beef, Dairy Free, Snacks

7 responses to “Homemade Beef Jerky.

  1. I discovered dehydrator jerky a few years ago here, also. We are privileged to be able to include local elk in our diet, so we use some of the lesser muscles for jerky meat.

  2. That is awesome. I grew up on venison and I crave wild meat now. Being city bound it is hard to get it here. It is great to hear you are able to make use of so much of the animal.

  3. Theresa

    What temp do you dehydrate at? And what kind of dehydrator do you recommend?
    Thanks.
    Theresa

  4. I am not sure the temp as it only has an “on” button, but I use this dehydrator: http://astore.amazon.com/theroocelsgar-20/detail/B0000665TM

    I recommend it as a set and walk away option. The oven can be used but seems much more complicated.

  5. Theresa

    By London Broil do you mean flank steak or top round?
    Thanks.
    Theresa

  6. That would be top round. Flank steak would make a great jerky, but it is really expensive out here. The top round (London broil) cut goes on sale out here for cheap. You could use something else if it is on sale, but it needs to be very low fat, you don’t want something with any marbling because it does not do well in the dehydrator.

  7. Deb

    I use ground meat, sometimes mixing beef, chicken or pork. After mixing the meat with my spices, and whatever sauces I choose to use, I put the mix into my cake decorating bag with no tip, just the coupling. I then “pipe” strips directly onto the dehydrator tray surface. It makes ropes of whatever length you decide, similar to the Slim Jim snacks. Oh, and I also use Worcester powder to cut back on the liquid in the mix and lower the time to dry. Making jerky this way is cheaper, easier to bite off and chew, as well a uniform shape for drying.

Leave a Reply

