Almost Mom’s Swiss Cheese Quiche.

Ok, so I had to adapt this one just slightly. I wanted to use fresh basil and not dried, so I did! Otherwise this is the recipe my mom used to make when we were kids. She says it is adapted from my Aunt, but we are going to give her credit because she is the only one who ever made it for me. Every year at our house for our birthday we got to pick a dish we wanted for dinner. One year, this weird kid actually picked quiche…not pizza or spaghetti…nope, quiche.

Growing up I just loved quiche, really though how could I not, eggs, cheese, ham, oh yes! When I was 17 I got to go to France on a school trip and I clearly remember visiting the Beaches of Normandy. After walking on the beaches and going through the museum we went into a little nearby town for lunch. We selected a little bistro/cafe and ordered up. I got the quiche. It was different than this quiche or any other quiche I had ever had, it had big chucks of broccoli and potatoes in it. While it was good, this quiche is different, this quiche is nostalgic. However, it has got my creative juices flowing and I do see more quiches in my future. I already have ideas for at least two!

I hope you enjoy this quick and simple recipe as I do.

Ingredients

2 – 9 inch unbaked pie shells

1 cup chopped onion (1 small onion)

2 T butter

3 eggs

1 1/2 C half & half

3 T fresh basil (1/2 t dried)

2 C grated swiss cheese

Any meat you want (I used 8 oz Niman Ranch Ham)

1/2 t salt (I used kosher)

1/2 t pepper

Preheat oven to 400.

Saute the onion in butter for about 5 minutes or until they have softened and are turning translucent. Add half to each pie shell. Add one cup of cheese on top of the onions to each shell.

Beat eggs in a medium mixing bowl. Add half & half and mix to combine. Mix in basil, ham, salt and pepper.

Pour half into each shell.

Bake for 40 to 45 minutes, or until set. Remove from oven and cool for 5 minutes, cut, and enjoy!

Love!

Leave a comment

Filed under Eggs, Mom's Recipes

Leave a Reply

