Corned Beef Hash.

I really want to take a stab at making my own corned beef. I want to purchase a beef brisket and brine it in a corning mix. Shouldn’t be too hard, but I have not gotten around to it yet. So for this recipe I will be using a store-bought corned beef, 4 pounds, cooked 4.5 hours in the slow cooker. Lame I know, but I am sure you will see the homemade corned beef soon enough.

I also have to take a moment to tell you that corned beef is probably my most favorite preparation of beef. I am a reuben fiend. I try them everywhere and make them at home whenever we have made a corned beef roast. But I also like corned beef in just about any other dish as well, and hash is no exception. For this recipe I was seeking the fried crust that restaurants achieve so there is going to be an extra sneaky extra step involved. It will work best if you own the lid to this little device, but you can substitute a number of items (such as a relatively flat heavy metal lid or the bottom of a pan with a can of soup sitting in it). You can also skip this all together as it adds to the time this will take, the complication level, and the number of dishes you will have to wash!

Ingredients (for 4, if serving other items)

8 oz Yukon gold potatoes, scrubbed

8 oz corned beef, diced or shredded (if you are using a measuring cup, this is around 2 cups)

1-2 T olive oil

1 small green pepper, diced

1/2 small red onion, diced (about 1/4 cup)

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 t cumin

1 t paprika

1/2 t pepper

1/2 t kosher salt

Because you want the potatoes to be relatively soft (even squishy) I am going to suggest parboiling them, however, as I mention here, it is not necessary.

So dice potatoes into 1/4 inch squares. and put them in a medium pot. Just cover the potatoes with cold water and boil for 10-12 minutes (don’t start counting until the water  boils!) or until fork soft. Drain potatoes and set aside. Bring a large skillet or griddle (just use something the lid will fit in) and 1 T oil to medium heat. Add onions and for three minutes. Add peppers and garlic  and cook for 1-2 minutes. Add all remaining ingredients, making sure to sprinkle the spices evenly. Cook for 3 or 4 minutes to get everything incorporated and warmed through. Add another T of oil if the mix is too dry and needs a little sizzle.

Now it is time to press the dish so as to achieve that great crust! Increase the heat to the medium side of medium-high and press the mixture with the lid. Be sure to watch closely so you don’t burn anything. After 3 minutes remove the lid and flip. Cook for 3 more minutes.

If you want you can cook some over easy or scrambled eggs to place on top of this or serve with some yummy buttered toast. Either way, this one will keep you full until dinner!

Enjoy!

Comments Off on Corned Beef Hash.

Filed under Beef, Breakfast, Potatoes

Comments are closed.