Breakfast Potato Scramble.

When I got up this morning I had not cooked in eight days. I was subjected to travel to a far away land where the food comes to you frozen and in packages and people think scratch-cooking is a foreign ideal. Okay, I will admit that I am being extreme as I recount this, but there is nothing fun about sitting in a hotel eating dry chicken and iceberg lettuce for days on end. For me and my little household the result is that we now have more food on hand (especially in the veggie persuasion) than we can eat in a week!

When I got home yesterday the most important thing, after saying hello to my K-9 babies, was to check on the gardens. To see how they grew. To see what was ready to eat. This is because I love my gardens, but it is more likely that it was because I had not seen a fresh vegetable (outside of that iceberg lettuce and a few mealy tomatoes) in what felt like a century! Seeing the lush green, growing beds made my urge to cook overwhelming.

I was pleasantly surprised, as shared yesterday, to learn that I would be eating fresh radishes, kolhrabis, greens and more over the next couple of weeks. This morning when I got up I started my mission of incorporating our new bounty into every meal, with breakfast being no exception. I know you are all probably getting sick of breakfast potatoes, and wondering how two people can possibly continue to eat them over and over, but this one is a real winner. I will admit that I am unsure if it was the depravation I experienced last week or if it really was just that good, but this dish was so fresh, so delicious, and so comforting.

Ingredients (serves 2-4)

8 oz baby Yukon gold potatoes (about 6)

2 T olive oil

A sprinkle of each: kosher salt, pepper, thyme, paprika, granulated garlic

2 scrambled eggs

2 Morningstar Farms Original Sausage Patties, prepared to package instructions (you can substitute real sausage here if you’d like)

3 oz crimini mushrooms, diced (about 6-7)

2.5 oz red pepper, diced (1/2 C)

1 oz red onion, diced (1/4 C)

1 oz baby rainbow chard, diced (7-8 leaves)

Shredded cheese

Heat oil in a medium/large skillet (I used a 12 inch, but 10 should be fine) over medium heat. Dice potatoes and add to the pan. Season with herbs and spices. Cook for 8 minutes stirring frequently. While potatoes are cooking prepare and scramble your eggs. Set aside.

Add onions and mushrooms to the potatoes. Cook for 5 minutes more and dice the sausage. Reduce heat to medium-low and add peppers and sausage (if using raw sausage, precook the meat). Cook for two minutes. Remove from heat and mix in chard and eggs. Top with cheese and serve.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, From the Garden, Potatoes, Vegetables, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

