Pizza Poppers.

If you grew up in a middle class American household there is a good chance you consumed some pre-made, frozen foods, at least once in a while, like Hot Pockets, Farm Rich Mozzarella Cheese Sticks, and Totinos Pizza Rolls. The worst part about your past, if you are like me, is that you sometimes crave those flavors and the nostalgia that comes with eating them. In the not too distant past I would have likely indulged by going to the grocery and making a naughty purchase for some less than healthy and whole foods to satisfy my craving. However, that is not what you are going to see today. Today I am in a mode where it is more fun to see if I can make it myself than to give in and buy what is put in front of me.

So I present you with my version of Totinos Pizza Rolls and I have only one disclaimer…I can count my ingredients on my own two hands! Ha! You might not get that, but if you know me or live in my house you do. To give just a little context, Totinos Pizza Rolls have 29 main ingredients listed. Within those 29 ingredients there are 54 sub ingredients listed and of those 54 sub ingredients 14 of them are listed to tell you what is in the beef. I pride myself in scratch cooking, being able to name (and hopefully grow) all of my ingredients. While I admit that some of my dishes have ingredients as long as my arm, pizza should not! These are simple and fun to make, a great after work dinner if you have kids in the house who want to help assemble.

Ingredients

1 ball of pizza dough

flour for dusting

1/8 C tomato sauce

1/2 C shredded mozzarella cheese

Favorite pizza toppings, diced into small pieces (like mushrooms, red onions, pepperoni, olives, peppers, etc)

1 T olive oil

1 clove of garlic, minced

1/4 t fresh rosemary, minced (can sub parsley)

Preheat oven to 400. Grease two pie pans. Pulling a ping-pong sized piece of dough off the ball at a time (about 1 oz), flatten it out with your hands or a rolling-pin on a lightly floured surface until it is about 5 inches in diameter. Fill with 1-2 T of fillings, starting with a brush of sauce. Pinch edges together to make a ball. Place seam side down in pie pan. Continue until both pans are full.

Combine oil, garlic and rosemary in a small dish. Apply to the top of the poppers with a basting brush.

Cook in the preheated oven for 20-30 minutes, until the poppers are bubbly and golden brown. Allow to cool for 10 minutes before removing from the pie pan so they remove without sticking to each other. Also to note: these stay hot inside just like the pre-made ones!

Serve with a side of your favorite dipping sauce like BBQ sauce, marinara sauce, or olive oil.

Enjoy!

6 Comments

Filed under Bread, Cheese, Outside of the Box, Pizza

6 responses to “Pizza Poppers.

  1. Joanne

    These look so yummy!

  2. This sounds delicious! Shared at my blog, http://www.beewench.blogspot.com

    thanks!
    -=Sarah

  3. Ann from Sumptuous Spoonfuls

    They sound and look amazing! Thank you Becky :)

  4. Looks delicious! I’ve always given in and gotten that bag of Totinos pizza rolls. Yep, we only eat meat from farmers we know and veggies from our garden or local farmers and yet I will still occasionally give in on the pizza rolls. I’ll have to try this recipe next time since I’ve always got pizza dough in the freezer and canned up the pizza sauce. Thank you so much!

  5. ohh gotta try these!! look so good!

Leave a Reply

