Chard Fried Rice.

What does one do when they have too much chard? They ask the hubs what to do.

Since the chard is being heavily munched by white fly larva I need to get it out of the garden, fast! I never ate chard growing up and it was not until this year when I grew it myself that I even liked the flavor so I had no idea what to do with it. I do know one thing, I don’t like wilted greens, so that was out of the question, but I do like it if it is cut up and put into other things.

You recently saw my baby chard breakfast scramble and I also made some stuffed mushrooms with chard in them, but I was getting taxed with ideas so the hubs suggested chard fried rice. Hello, that was out of left field! But that is what I made and it was lovely. But remember you can add any veggies you want to this recipe and have a great side or even a main dish if you add some shrimp or chicken.

Ingredients

1 C uncooked jasmine rice

1/2 T butter

2 C water

2 eggs

1 T water

2 T olive oil

4 T soy sauce

1 T rice vinegar

2 T chives, chopped

2 oz chard, cut into ribbons (I used tender chard, but if yours has large ribs in it, remove them, dice and add to the skillet when you add the onions)

8 crimini mushrooms, diced

1 small bell pepper, diced

1/2 small onion, diced

Over medium heat, melt butter in a medium sauce pan. Add rice and sauté for 2 minutes, stirring constantly to avoid burning and sticking. Add water and increase heat to high. Bring rice to a boil, cover and reduce heat to very low. Allow rice to simmer for 8-10 minutes, or until cooked to your liking. Remove from pan and place in the freezer while you prepare and chop the rest of the ingredients. Or you can make the rice a day in advance and store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

Beat eggs and water in a bowl and set aside. Add oil, 2 T soy sauce, and vinegar to a large skillet and heat over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms and onions and cook for 4 minutes. Add peppers and 2 cups of rice and mix to combine, cook for 1 minute. Sprinkle with 2 T soy sauce. Make a well in the center of the pan and add egg.

Using a spatula pull rice into the egg as it cooks.

You want to make sure the egg is cooking into curdles and not just getting all over the rice while it is raw, it won’t have the same effect.

When egg is completely cooked add chard and chives and toss to combine. Serve hot.

Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Asian Inspired, Dairy Free, Edible Plants, From the Garden, Grains/Rice, Side Dish, Vegetables, Vegetarian

One response to “Chard Fried Rice.

  1. Fried rice is one of my favourites. I will try making it with some chard.

Leave a Reply

