Seed & Nut Clusters.

Recently I had to take a business trip. I prepared by purchasing some snacks to take with me on the plane. I got some fruit, seed and nut trail mix and I added some dark chocolate chips to it. I did not finish all of my mix before returning to the office and while unpacking my briefcase, I set the bag haphazardly on my desk. To my dismay this happened to be in a sunny spot and the chips were all melty before I noticed. I moved the bag out the of the sun and thought nothing of it until a couple of days later when I needed a snack. The bag had become a series of fruit, seed and nut clusters glued together by the once melted, and now harded chips. But the clusters were good!

So was born the idea for these clusters, made on purpose of course!

Ingredients (makes 24 clusters)

1/4 C raw pumpkin seeds

2 T flax seeds

1/4 C salted sunflower seeds

1/2 C raw whole almonds

1/2 C raw cashew pieces

6 oz dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 300. Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl with your hands. Using a mini muffin tin, fill each cup to the top, making sure to get a good mix of the ingredients in each cup. Place in the oven for 9 minutes. Remove, tap on counter to settle chocolate and allow to cool on the counter. When the pan can be handled with a bare hand, place in the refrigerator or freezer and allow choclate to completely set (about 60 minutes). Remove pan from refrigerator or freezer and bang on the counter to encourage the clusters to release. You may need to slide a toothpick down next to them to get them to release. Store out of the sun in a decently cool location or in the refrigerator.

Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Snacks, Vegan, Vegetarian

One response to “Seed & Nut Clusters.

  1. Yum! And pretty too, like a high end chocolate that I would pay a fortune for at a specialty store.

Leave a Reply

