Beer Marinated Grilled Flank Steak.

At the store the other day I asked the hubs to pick out some steak. With grilling season upon us (not that it ever really ends, but the summer weather to accompany it makes it more official), steaks were sounding mighty fine. I figured we would end up with some New York’s or maybe even Tri-Tip. What we ended up with was a new cut to me: flank steak. Not knowing much about it I set out to research and I was surprised to find that some of the majors like Food Network and Rachel Ray have posts about flank steak, but many of the blogs I am used to seeing on searches did not come up. This it seems, is not a commonly used cut of meat? Maybe that is why it was so expensive…which I did not notice until we got it home and I was checking its weight!

In any case, I recently made a pact with myself to cook with more beer so I thought I would try it out on the mystery steak. New world of cooking with beer, new cut of beef! The result was a well marinaded piece of meat that had clear flavors of beer.  With regards to the amount of beer flavor this beef took on, if the chicken I made the other night was beery, this beef was out of the park beery! The final result was surprisingly sweet, but in a very good way.

Ingredients

1.5 lb flank steak

1 C premium lager (I used Sessions Lager)

2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

1 t sea salt (I used a smoked sea salt…check out The Meadow)

1/2 t fresh cracked black pepper

2 T fresh oregano, roughly chopped

1/2 t red pepper flakes

2 T Worcestershire sauce

2 T agave nectar

Combine marinade ingredients and add to a plastic zip lock bag. Add meat and seal bag, removing excess air to ensure the marinade covers the meat entirely. Place in refrigerator over night.

Preheat grill to 500 (high). Place steak on the hottest part of the grill,  and with the burners on high sear for two and half minutes on each side. Move to a cooler part of the grill and turn burners to medium-high and cook for three minutes on each side. Remove and let rest for 5 minutes before cutting. Cut against the grain and on a bias.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Beef, Beer, Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Grilling

Leave a Reply

