My Favorite Buttermilk Pancake Recipe.

I found this buttermilk pancake recipe many years ago in the newspaper. I am sure it had context at some point, but all I have now is a very yellowed shred of paper. I searched the name of the recipe and found that it is fairly famous. It is the Bette’s Diner Buttermilk Pancakes recipe. Near as I can tell this is a recipe from a book called “The Pancake Handbook: Specialties from Bette’s Oceanview Diner” written by Steve Siegelman, Bette Kroening, and Sue Conley. All of the website links for Bette’s Diner brought up errors as though they no longer existed.

Not sure what this means, but it does not change that this has been my FAVORITE pancake recipe for as long as I knew there was something other than Aunt Jemima. I even remember the insane, crazed excitement I felt the first time I got to make this recipe for my parents, it was the best I told them. They did approve! I can’t be certain, I mean it could be the buttermilk, but I have always thought that it was the load of butter that made this recipe so darn good.

Ingredients

2 C flour

2 T sugar

2 t baking powder

1/2 t kosher salt

1 t baking soda

2 eggs

2 C buttermilk

1/2 C milk

1/4 C butter, melted

butter for the skillet

Combine dry ingredients, mixing to ensure everything is evenly distributed. Add wet ingredients and mix. Batter will be lumpy and thick. Rest batter for 5 minutes while griddle heats.

Heat griddle or skillet over medium heat. Melt butter and add one scoopful of batter at a time. When the pancakes are are really bubbly and looking a little done on the edges, flip them to finish cooking.

Enjoy, really, really, enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Bread, Breakfast, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

