Quick Huckleberry Sauce.

I am really not one for maple syrup. The maple flavor is something that I just cannot get the taste buds around. It is such an aversion that I cannot eat maple bacon or even pecans, which taste like maple to me. It is such a beautiful substance, something so pure and natural. It is a great sweetener, topping, a tasty treat. It is something I just cannot enjoy. So I have started to experiment with fruit sauces as possible toppings for things like pancakes and waffles. Recently I made this wonderful huckleberry sauce for my favorite buttermilk pancakes.

Ingredients

1 C huckleberries, fresh or frozen

1/4 C water

1/4 C sugar

juice of 1/2 of a small orange

1 T arrowroot powder

Combine huckleberries, water, sugar, and juice in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil and cook for 3 minutes, stirring frequently. Remove from heat. Add arrowroot powder and stir until all of the powder is dissolved. Serve over your favorite delicious breakfast bread or ice cream!

Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, Dairy Free, Dessert, Fast & Easy, Fruit, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Sauce and Gravy, Vegan, Vegetarian

One response to “Quick Huckleberry Sauce.

  1. Phil

    At first I was puzzled why your recipe called for Chuckleberries. I had never heard of that fruit, but then I realized that I was reading it wrong. The “C” was for “cups”.

    I think the seeds of the huckleberries have a bad after-taste, so I put the berry mixture through a wire mesh before thickening the sauce. This gives me all that unique huckleberry flavor without the strange slightly bitter seed taste.

Leave a Reply

