Orangey Salt & Pepper Roast Chicken.

Recently I made my first BBQ sauce and I wanted something full of flavor that would not compete with the sauce to put it on, like this one might have. I came up with this simple and straight forward roast chicken to be my canvas. It worked out perfectly because I was to be out-of-town. I roasted the chicken and broke it down and left it in the fridge next to the sauce for the hubs to nosh while I was gone…Don’t worry, I snuck some before I left! The BBQ sauce was ok, but I will have to try again before I share.

Simple Salt & Pepper Roast Chicken.

Ingredients

4 lb fryer chicken

1 T unsalted butter

1 orange

2 t kosher or flake salt (I used flake)

1 t fresh cracked black pepper

1 sprig of rosemary

1/2-1 T olive oil

a dash more salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350.

Slice the orange into at least four 1/8 inch thick rounds and set on a cutting board. Liberally salt and pepper one side of the orange rounds. Reserve the remaining orange for the cavity. Remove the giblets from your chicken and pat dry with paper towels. Carefully separate the skin from the breast and rub 1/2 tablespoon of butter on each breast. Place two oranges, salt side to the breast of the chicken under the skin on each breast.

Please remaining orange and the rosemary in the cavity of the chicken. Put the chicken in a 9×13 roaster, tuck wings under, and tie legs together. Drizzle the chicken with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Add one cup of water to the roasting pan (use broth if you are going to make gravy and increase to two cans). Place in oven and roast for 80 minutes or until juices run clear and thermometer placed in the thickest part of the thigh reads 165. Allow to rest 20 minutes before carving. Dress with gravy or your favorite sauce of choice.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicken, Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Grain Free

Leave a Reply

