Sautéed Baby Beet Greens.

A little delicacy that we discovered last year was baby beet greens, micro greens really. While thinning the beets I found myself holding a fistful of beet greens.  Not wanting to just toss them away I put one in my mouth. It was tender, sweet, and just a little beety. Beets and chard are from the same family and beet greens are kind of like chard, but nowhere near as earthy. I like this about beet greens. I am a ways down the path to liking chard, but I am so not all the way there yet. Beet greens on the other hand are a whole other story.

So I ended up keeping all of the baby greens and we added them to salads and paninis until they were gone. It was a great way to eat the seedlings I would have otherwise had to dispose of. It made thinning that much easier and provided a nutritious addition to so many meals. This year we decided to grow some beet greens, just for the greens, no beets involved! In some garden containers I broadcast a bunch of old beet seeds I had, a few weeks later I had a healthy serving of baby beet greens!

Sautéed Baby Beet Greens.

Ingredients (serves 2)

2 t olive oil

1 clove of garlic, finely chopped

2 handfuls (6 oz) baby beet greens (beet tops)

1 t balsamic vinegar

1/2 t sea salt, finely ground

1/2 t fresh cracked black pepper

2 T freshly grated parmesan or crumbled blue cheese

Heat olive oil in a large sauté pan over medium heat. Add garlic and beet greens and cook for about two minutes (just until wilted), stirring to ensure even cooking. Add vinegar, salt and pepper and cook for one minute more. Remove from heat and sprinkle with cheese.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dairy Free, Edible Plants, From the Garden, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Side Dish, Vegetables, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

