Sort of Sue’s Chicken Lasagna.

I was recently challenged by a family friend. I was in town for my Whirlwind Trip that I told you about when my parent’s best friend Sue asked if I had made her chicken lasagna recipe that she sent me. I had not. Much to my chagrin, I replied, “no”, and she said “I was hoping you would try it because I wanted to see how you would change it. You always change everything.” She is right, I do. So I got to thinking about it, why hadn’t I made that recipe. It was intriguing enough, but something had held me back. So I dug out the email where she had sent it to me….last June and the email where I responded that I would give it a try. Shoot! I really screwed this one up. So I printed the recipe again and took a look at it. Then I remembered, I had not made the recipe because it has cream of chicken soup in it, the canned kind. I know sometimes I will use these ingredients when covering someone elses recipe, but I really don’t like the flavor of cream of chicken soup.

This time though, I read the recipe and heard Sue’s voice ringing in my ears…”I wanted to see how you would change it.” So I thought about my challenge and how to best proceed next and out of sheer happenstance, I stumbled upon the most intriguing blog that I shared with you yesterday. It was a post where someone has adapted James Beard’s cream of chicken soup. An adaptation that I just had to try!

This is my version of this recipe with Sue’s ingredients listed in parentheses where I have subbed them. Make whichever version you are most comfortable with or mix them together!

Sort of Sue’s Chicken Lasagna.

Ingredients

about 6 lasagna noodles

16 oz sour cream

2 C cream of chicken soup (or 2 cans if you must)

1 6 oz can of black olives, sliced

2 C chicken breast (or two cans), cooked

2 C cheddar cheese, shredded

1 C grated parmesan cheese

3 cloves of garlic, minced (Sue subs granulated garlic, I would say 2 T would be enough)

1 medium onion, finely chopped

kosher salt and fresh cracked black pepper to taste

I also have to add some veggies to this one, so:

1 medium zucchini, thinly sliced (about 1 1/2 cups)

Boil water in a large stock pot. Add noodles and cook to package instructions. Or you can use the no boil noodles. Again prepare as directed on the package.

Preheat oven to 375.

In a large mixing bowl, combine all ingredients reserving 1/2 of the cheese to use as a topping. Spray a 9×13 baking dish with non-stick spray. Spread 1/3 of the filling on the bottom of the dish and cover with half of the noodles. Spread the next 1/3 of filling over the noodles and top with remaining noodles. Finish with the rest of the filling mixture and spread remaining cheese over that.

Cover with foil and bake for 45 minutes, making sure the foil is raised off the cheese so it does not bake together. Remove foil and bake 15 minutes more. Remove lasagna from oven and allow to cool 15 minutes before cutting.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Casseroles/Bakes, Cheese, Chicken, Midwest Inspired, Pasta

Leave a Reply

