The Becky Fruit.

I grew something we are lovingly calling the Becky fruit. I am not sure where the seed came from. I had originally thought it was in the under processed worm compost I applied in the spring, but then realized the final product did not look like anything I had eaten before. Then we thought that it had been cross pollenated becasue it is in the corn bed, where there are also beans and a random acorn squash looking thing that is also a mystery. Then yesterday I saw this kobocha squash and started thinking this might be what I have. Though I have never had one so I am not sure how it would have gotten into homemade compost…

In any case I cooked it up the way I was instructed through reading about the kobocha squash, roasted in the oven, the way one might roast any squash.

Roast Becky Fruit (aka, some sort of roast winter squash)

Ingredients

1 Becky Fruit (or any small/medium winter squash)

1 T olive oil

1 t sea salt of choice (I used jalapeño salt)

1/2 t fresh cracked black pepper

Preheat oven to 375.

Peel and dice squash. Toss with remaining ingredients. Bake on a silpat for 45 minutes.

Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Dairy Free, Edible Plants, From the Garden, Garden, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Side Dish, Vegan, Vegetables, Vegetarian

One response to “The Becky Fruit.

  1. Wow is that neat. Maybe you have discovered something unique. Love the picture.

Leave a Reply

