Dark Chocolate Chili Mousse.

I got this recipe from a coworker, whose wife got it from Celiac Chicks, who adapted it from The Pioneer Woman. I cannot find The Pioneer Woman’s recipe, so I cannot give the link to the original, but I know she wrote it. In any case, this came up over dinner when we got talking about dishes we have totally failed at. One of my total and utter failures was chocolate mousse last Christmas Eve. I made a wonderful, multi-course dinner for the hubs and I and everything went swimmingly until it came to dessert. I tried to make mousse. How hard can it be, right? Well it was for me! The mousse failed. It was so inedible we had to throw it away.

My coworker immediately thought of this dish as I told the story and shared it with me. I decided to put a chili spin on it

Dark Chocolate Chili Mousse.

Ingredients

12 oz dark chocolate with chili, well chopped

4 eggs, room temperature

2 t vanilla extract

2 t agave or cane sugar (unless you use milk chocolate, then skip this ingredient)

1/8 t kosher salt

8 oz hot coffee

Combine all ingredients, except the hot coffee, in a blender. Blend until well combined. Slowly add the hot coffee while blending. Blend for about a minute after you add all of the coffee, or until the mixture is smooth and the chocolate is melted. Taste for sweetness and add a little more sweetener if you need too. Scoop out into individual serving dishes.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert

Leave a Reply

