Dark Chocolate Pumpkin Pie Mousse.

Happy Halloween everyone!

I always get so excited about being able to take a dish to someone’s house for a party. I put a ridiculous amount of pressure on myself to make “the best” thing…ever. Ha! Silly I know, but it is how my brain works. It is what happens when my OC-“D” kicks in and mixes with my love of food (BTW, I put the D in quotes because I am not diagnosed, jut obsessive compulsive, no proof that it is a disorder:) Really).

Back to the point, the hubs and I were invited over to our friend’s house for a little Halloween gathering, to give out candy and have a general good time. They said they wanted to do pizza and fun fall desserts. I got quite excited with visions of fall fruit cobbler and tarts and then about 4 or 5 days later I found out one of the hosts was going to do a diet restriction for 30 days to try to combat seasonal allergies. No grains and no dairy…makes for interesting desserts if you ask me. After thinking about it for a day or two, my chili mousse popped into my head and I asked her if eggs and really dark chocolate were acceptable…yes! Awesome, I thought, but what about the “fall” flare that I needed to add. That is when this one came to me. What if I put pumpkin pie spice into the mousse to give it that really “fall-like” feel? Not a bad idea after all. And the serving vessels are Über-cute too, little 4 oz jars. Let’s hope these go over well tonight!

Dark Chocolate Pumpkin Pie Mousse.

Ingredients

12 oz really dark chocolate (I used 88%), finely chopped

4 eggs, room temperature

2 t vanilla extract

1-2 t agave or other liquid sweetener

1/8 t kosher salt

pumpkin pie spice (use the entire recipe below)

1/2 C pureed pumpkin

8 oz really hot coffee

Combine all ingredients, except the hot coffee, in a blender. Blend until well combined. Slowly add the hot coffee while blending. Blend for about a minute after you add all of the coffee, or until the mixture is smooth and the chocolate is completely melted. Taste for sweetness and add a little more sweetener if you need too. Scoop out into individual serving dishes.

Pumpkin Pie Spice

Ingredients

3/4 t ground cinnamon

1/2 t ground nutmeg

1/4 t ground ginger

1/4 t ground cloves

Combine thoroughly.

Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Dairy Free, Dessert, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Holiday, Seasons

4 responses to “Dark Chocolate Pumpkin Pie Mousse.

  1. Lisa Finn

    This sounds yummy!

  2. This sounds delicious! I too, have to go without dairy and gluten so this recipe is perfect. Kudos to you for making something that your host could enjoy on a restricted diet! Can’t wait to try it. :)

  3. I get weird about raw eggs, but this looks good!

  4. Just pretend the hot coffee cooks them completely through ;)

Leave a Reply

