Spelt & Whole Wheat Pizza Dough.

I have been making my quick pizza dough for months. It is a great go-to recipe, but recently we have become interested in branching out from the all purpose flour and we picked up some spelt flour. We love spelt berries and other processed spelt products like crackers and thought we might enjoy using the flour too, though I was unsure of how it would compare to using regular white unblanched flour. However, I thought it would be a good place to start as spelt is wheat and contains moderate amounts of gluten. Gluten is the main characteristic that I am looking for when making dough, it allows the dough to get bubbly. In my research on the health benefits I found that it is also chock full of minerals.

The result was something I will most likely sub in as my new standard dough. It was a little different in texture, but overall it was lovely. And cutting in 1/2 cup whole wheat flour was lovely too. You will see that I did use AP flour to knead the dough, and you could certainly use spelt, but I wanted to use a little cost savings as the spelt flour is quite expensive.

This is a quick version of this dough, should you wish to allow more rise time or subsequent rises, have at it!

Spelt & Whole Wheat Pizza Dough.

Ingredients

1 t yeast

1 t sugar

1 C water, 110-115 degrees

1 T olive oil

1/2 t kosher salt

1 1/2 – 2 C spelt flour

1/2 C whole wheat flour

1/2 – 1 C all purpose (AP) flour

Proof yeast in a large bowl by putting yeast and flour into the bowl. When the water is in the desired temperature range, slowly add it to the bowl. Allow this to sit for 15 minutes. Add olive oil, salt, 1 1/2 cup spelt flour, and all of the whole wheat flour to the bowl and combine with a silicon spatula.

Flour the counter with a liberal amount of AP flour. Turn out the dough and knead in up to 1/2 cup more of the spelt flour. If the dough is still fairly tacky, need in more or sub AP flour. Knead until the dough is not tacky to the touch and elastic. Form into a ball by pulling the dough underneath itself. Wash your bowl and grease it with olive oil. Place the dough ball into it and flip it over to entirely coat the ball. Place in a warm location for 1 hour.

Once the dough has doubled in size, turn it out onto a floured work surface (again, I used AP flour here). Knead and add flour if you are finding the dough to be tacky at all. The dough is now ready to use.

Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Bread, Dairy Free, Grains/Rice, Vegan, Vegetarian

One response to “Spelt & Whole Wheat Pizza Dough.

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz

    This looks great! I’ve never really cooked/baked much with spelt, which is odd, because I think I have a bag of spelt flour in my freezer… I’ll have to bust it out!

Leave a Reply

