Spelt Dough Pizza Pockets.

I had set out to make stromboli, but was using this new dough that I am in love with. I was not as familiar with it as I am now and ended up with a little softer product that I had thought. Working AP flour you have maximum gluten, which adds to the elasticity of the product. This dough has all the potential of working just fine, I was just not prepared for it. So the result was pizza pockets, which were just as wonderful and pizza-like as a stromboli. Good enough to make again anyway and if the dough is already in the refrigerator, this could totally be a quick weeknight dish.

Spelt Dough Pizza Pockets. Serves 4.

Ingredients

1 recipe of spelt & whole wheat dough

AP flour (for rolling out the dough)

4 T pizza sauce

Toppings of choice (we used olives, mushrooms, ham, turkey, mozzarella, and red onions)

Preheat a pizza stone to 500. Reduce heat to 400.

Divide dough into two equal pieces. Set one aside, covered with a towel. Roll out the first piece until it is thin, but not tearing, you do not want it to rip once it filled. Cut the rolled out piece in half and spread out 1 tablespoon of sauce on each half. Fill with 1/4 of the toppings. Fold in the sides and then roll closed. repeat with remaining dough.

Place pockets on the pizza stone and cook 15-25 minutes, until the top and bottom are golden brown.

If you do not have a pizza stone, cook these on your standard pizza sheet at 400 until golden brown.

Enjoy!

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Bread, Cheese, Grains/Rice, Pizza

5 responses to “Spelt Dough Pizza Pockets.

  1. katy

    ok so what is spelt?
    and what is bisquick made of? Is there a way I can make my own type of mixture like bisquick?

  2. Spelt is wheat. It is not the common wheat you are used to eating, but it is a species of wheat. It contains gluten. Think of it as a precursor to the wheat we eat today, an ancient grain. It has a nuttier taste than common wheat and the berries are really good (which is how we started eating spelt). I am finding it a bit dense for everyday baking.

    Bisquick is essentially flour (common wheat flour) mixed with leveners (baking soda, baking powder). You can make anything you would make with biquick by mixing flour and a levener and adding the same egg, milk and maybe butter. Bisquick also contains stabilizers and hydrogenated oils. I strongly recommend against its use if you can buy fresh flour and baking powder.

  3. katy

    That’s what I don’t want is all the hydrogenated oils and nasty stuff. Which is why I don’t buy it but I also am looking for extremely quick and healthy meals since I don’t have lots of time to spend on cooking. Thanks for the info!

  4. katy

    So I did a little searching and by little I mean about 5 minutes and found this recipie for Homemade “Bisquick” I thought I would just pass it along.
    2 cups flour
    ¼ cup shortening
    1 tsp salt
    2 tbls baking powder
    Combine all ingredients in a bowl and beat with mixer on low until it is the consistency of bisquick. Use in any recipe where you would use regular bisquick.

Leave a Reply

