Simple Egg Salad.

I really do love egg salad, in fact I love anything you can dream up making from hard boiled eggs. Eggs in-and-of themselves are one of life’s most perfect morsels, but hard boil it and there is a way it can actually be better, it is now portable! I love it. Specifically here though we are going to talk about egg salad. It is best, in my opinion, on a light buttery croissant with simply a piece of romaine and provolone. This is the exact combination I ate for lunch nearly every day of my college career.

Today I am adding a new ingredient to my simple egg salad, relish. This relish was made with refrigerator pickles that I threw together with the last of the cucumber harvest. I did not record the recipe, but it was your standard water, vinegar, salt and sugar receipe. It has some chili d’Arbol in it and some garlic and celery seed. I must have been heavy on the sugar because they are sweeter than my normal pickles, and they did not get over vinegared so I am thinking I topped them off with water when there was not enough brine. If you do not have any refrigerator pickles on hand you could always try your hand at making them, or you can sub in your favorite relish.

Simple Egg Salad. Makes two sandwiches.

Ingredients

4 hard boiled eggs

2-4 T relish

1-2 T sour cream

1/2 t mustard

pinch of kosher salt

pinch of fresh cracked black pepper

Cut eggs with an egg slicer two directions.

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl.

Adjust salt and pepper as needed. Enjoy on bread or crackers.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Eggs, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Sandwich, Vegetables, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

