Peanut Butter Spent Grain Chocolate Chip Cookies.

I know I just told you the other day that I only have one cookie recipe and that got me thinking, why? I should have more and I have a lot of spent grain on hand. The more beer we brew, the more spent grain I have. I have composted a decent share of it as we just don’t have space to store it, but I am also learning how to cook with it. I found these cookies over at Omnoicon and made just a few changes to it. I think it turned out great and these little morsels are just healthy enough to make you overlook the chocolate! They are almost like little breakfast cookies. I can already see variations of this in my future.

Peanut Butter Spent Grain Chocolate Chip Cookies. Makes 20-24 cookies.

Ingredients

1/3 C natural peanut butter

2 T unsalted butter, melted

1 C cane sugar

1/3 C milk (I used 1%)

1 T vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups wet spent grains (I used a mix of crystal 80, chocolate and carafa)

1 1/2 C whole wheat flour

1/2 C all purpose flour

1 t baking powder

1 t kosher salt

1/2 C chocolate chips

1/2 C chopped toasted walnuts

Process

Preheat oven to 425.

Combine flours, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl.

In a separate bowl cream together peanut butter, butter, milk, and vanilla. Add spent grains and mix to combine completely. Slowly add flour and mix to combine. Using a spatula add chocolate chips and walnuts.

Place spoonfuls on a silpat liked baking sheet, press down to slightly flatten. The cookies don’t really spread so you if you want them flatter, you have to do it before you bake them. Bake for 8-10 minutes, until golden brown (remember there are no eggs in this so you do not have to cook until completely set). Allow cookies to cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes so they do not fall apart when you try to move them. Complete the cooling process on a wire cooling rack.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Beer, Dessert, Spent Grain, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

