Almond Pancakes & Raspberry Sauce.

I have been making a lot of almond milk lately. It all started because I had to stop drinking coffee. My acid reflux was completely out of control and the totally awesome Northwest coffee that I was filling my body with every day was causing it. I went through five months of suffering before I was finally ready to test it out and see if coffee was the culprit. My acid reflux, I mean debilitating, burning pain, was gone within days. Sad day for this girl. I don’t really consume caffeine in other forms, outside of a Red Bull or two on the weekends, so I have effectively cut out all caffeine at this point. What does this have to do with almond milk you ask?

So, to substitute that warm deliciousness that is a cup of coffee in the AM, I started drinking herbal tea. Herbal tea is great and all, but it is not your creamy cup of joe, sort of lacks that exciting punch, if you know what I mean. So needless to say, the cup was lacking something, I am not saying caffeine, just something *looks the other way*. So it must be the milk. And, though I add milk to my coffee, cow milk has always grossed me out. Yes I cook with it, but the drinking of it…meh. So I was seeking an alternative creamy goodness to add to my tea, to help my brain think it was coffee. I checked all of the alternative milks at that the store and they all had ingredient lists as long as my arm, which seemed odd and grossed me out to milk even more. But with luck I had recently started following Savory Simple, and she had just posted an almond milk recipe not a month earlier! AND, I had heard almonds reduce acid reflux, double score.

So, I have been making a lot of almond milk lately. This leads to having a lot of almond meal on hand. I cannot bring myself to throw it away (what a waste of those perfectly beautiful nuts). So I began dehydrating it into meal and storing it in the refrigerator (that is where you keep almond flour, so I just did the same, though I think it would be fine in the pantry). In any case, I needed to do something with it because I now have way too much and this is the recipe I came up with, inspired by one of my lovely FB readers who was having pancakes for dinner.

Almond Pancakes. Serves two.

Ingredients

1 1/4 C almond meal or flour

1/2 C all purpose flour

1 t baking powder

2 T natural cane sugar

1/2 kosher salt

2 eggs

3/4 C milk (I used cow, 1%)

1/2 t vanilla

Process

Combine dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Add wet ingredients and mix with a fork, making sure to fully incorporate the eggs. Allow to sit for 5 minutes before cooking, if batter is thicker than you like, add 1/4 more milk.

Cook in a skillet heated to medium, greased with butter or other oil. When edges are cooked and bubbles have formed, flip and cook for 30 seconds to 1 minute more (using a spatula to check for doneness).

Raspberry Sauce.

Ingredients

1 C frozen or fresh raspberries (I used frozen from the garden)

1/2 C water

2 T natural cane sugar

1 T arrowroot powder

Combine raspberries, water and sugar in a small pot. Warm over high heat until mixture reaches a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes. Add arrowroot powder slowly to dissolve all of it, mixing the entire time. Remove from heat and serve.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Bread, Breakfast, Dessert, Nuts/Seeds, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

