“Super Food” Kale Chips.

With Christmas travel coming up, the hubs and I were seeking some healthy snacks that keep well without refrigeration and that will keep us away from fast food temptations. We were browsing around at the store and saw some kale chips that looked really good. The only problem was that for a 3 ounce bag of the healthy goodness, they get you for $6.99, so yeah, we were not going to buy those. So instead we ran around the grocery store collecting ingredients to make our own.

Here is what we came up with. It is one of those recipes where I wish I was a dietitian so I would know more about just how good it is for me.

“Super Food” Kale Chips.

Ingredients

1 large golden beet (about .5 lb)

1/2 lb kale (I used the pretty purple kind)

1/4 lb spinach

1 t kosher salt

1 t granulated garlic

1/2 t chili powder

1 T coconut oil (heated to liquify in the microwave)

1 t toasted sesame seed oil

2 T chickpea flour, heaping (I used Bob’s Red Mill)

1/8 C flax seeds (I used brown)

Process

Roast golden beet at 400 degrees until soft (about 1 hour) — the easiest way to do this is to set the beet, skin and all, in the center of a piece of foil and drizzle with olive oil. Close up foil and place the beet in the middle of the oven rack. When the beet is soft, remove and allow to cool in foil for about 20 minutes, or until it is cool enough to handle. Cut the ends off the beet and he skin should peel right off with your fingers. If it is stubborn, just use a vegetable peeler.

Prep kale and spinach by washing them. Remove the woody ends of the kale stems, but leave the rest there. Rough chop the kale so that the food processor doesn’t have too hard a time with the big leaves. Add all ingredients except the chickpea flour and flax seeds to the food processor and process until everything is completely chopped up. You may need to rock the processor just a little to get all of the kale leaves broken down.

Move the mixture to a large mixing bowl and  add the flour and flax seeds. Mix to combine. Add one tablespoon at a time to your dehydrator trays. Be sure to use the solid trays. Flatten the dollops and make sure you space them so they are not touching.

My dehydrator only has an on setting. Even the manufacturers website and manual do not state the temperature that it dehydrates at. But you can see what I use here. I think that it is about 120 degrees. We used two different methods for measuring the temp and that is the average we are getting. I dehydrated my chips for 10 hours, turning after 7, but I think they were too thick and turned them only to make them cook faster. If you make them thinner, I would bet that you are sitting at about 6-8.

Enjoy!

5 Comments

Filed under Dairy Free, DIY, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Nuts/Seeds, Outside of the Box, Snacks, Vegan, Vegetables, Vegetarian

5 responses to ““Super Food” Kale Chips.

  1. Yum! I’m going to have to dig my dehydrator out and try these. I might even be able to sneak them into my husband’s diet. ;)

  2. Hello Becky!
    I would love to try making these some time! Thanks for posting!

    xo,
    Melissa
    http://www.ChinDeep.com

  3. what an original kale chip recipe! It really is different from any other I’ve seen before. Clever girl!

  4. I will tell you this, you do have to like the flavor of both kale and spinach to enjoy these. I am going to make a low fat cream cheese dip with some carrots and broccoli to eat with these. I am quite excited, but I could see someone that does not like veg and especially green veg getting really freaked out by this. I am glad you are intrigued. Veggie lovers have to stick together :)

  5. Some feedback from Christmas on these chips, they were a hit. One suggestion I did get though, was to use a little red pepper flake.

Leave a Reply

