Ham & Cheese Stromboli.

Now I know this is not the lightest of posts for the beginning of the year, but I honestly cannot believe I have not put this on the blog yet. After we got our pizza stone for our wedding in 2009 I made it my business to perfect stromboli. And I have done a lot to make this traditionally fairly greasy and fatty dish a good bit healthier. I am suggesting you use a spelt and whole wheat dough. You can also sub with whatever whole grain dough you know and love. I am also using lean ham, turkey pepperoni and part skim milk, with just a little provolone!

Don’t worry, I know this is still not diet food, but the dough comes out without the grease I have always witnessed when purchasing this from a local grinder shop or pizza parlor and besides, everyone needs to be a little bad when they are busy being good.

Ham & Cheese Stromboli. Makes two large strombolis.

Ingredients

1 recipe Spelt & Whole Wheat Pizza Dough, or your favorite (mine was about 25 ounces total)

6-8 T marinara or pizza sauce

8 oz ham, thinly sliced (I used deli meat)

4 oz salami or pepperoni, thinly sliced (I used turkey)

6 oz provolone, sliced or shred

6 oz part skim mozzarella, sliced or shred

1/2 small red onion, thinly sliced

1/2-3/4 C Muffuletta, you can also use your favorite olive tapenade (drained if there is a lot of liquid)

1 egg, well beaten with 1 T water

2 pinches each of granulated garlic and oregano, tossed together

Extra sauce for dipping, if desired

Cornmeal for the pizza peel

Process

Preheat oven to 500 with pizza stone inside. When it comes to temp, reduce it to 425 for cooking.

Divide dough into two equal balls. Cover one while working with the other. Form the dough into a log and roll it out into a rectangle. Spread sauce, taking care to keep it about 1 inch from all sides. Proceed with adding one half of all of the ingredients. I always make sure there is a good bit of cheese near what will be the ends so that when I cut the ends and no one else wants them I get to enjoy the bready, cheesy goodness (my little secret).

Lightly brush egg on all edges. Starting with a long end, roll the stromboli like a jelly roll, turning under the ends. Place on a pizza peel covered in cornmeal and snip 4 or 5 air holes in the top with a knife or kitchen scissors. Repeat. Brush both rolls with egg wash and sprinkle with garlic and oregano.

Place both rolls on the pizza stone and bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.

Allow to cool for about 5-10 minutes and slice. Serve with sauce on the side if so desired.

Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Italian Inspired, Pizza

One response to “Ham & Cheese Stromboli.

Leave a Reply

