The Hop & Vine ~ A Portland Gem.

This is a little out of the ordinary for me, but for the last two weeks we have been eating out of the pantry (and making some weird stuff) so I have not had many recipes to post. I also have not had a lot of garden posts due to being between having seedlings to show you, but fret not, I will show you the progress on the 12/29 planting next week. Today I am going to share with you one of my favorite restaurants. This is one of those places I cannot resist on most days of the week. Now, the hubs and I are not in the habit of eating out and spending our money at the bar, but this is one of those places we have to go once a month, or serious withdrawals set in!!

So, I will not be posting this weekend, and when I return on Monday I will announce our give away winner. But in the mean time I will leave you with a photo review of The Hop & Vine. This particular spread was a little heavy on the meat and bread, but shouldn’t it be if you are away from the garden?

Start your meal, and end it, with a lovely Northwest microbrew. They have 8 or more rotating taps and a bottle shop to choose from. They also have fantastic cocktails and just as many wines to choose from. Happy hour offers discounts on each!

Start your food courses with Chicken Liver Pate and house made pickles and mustard. Fantastic. I just melt over this pate, obviously made with whole cream.

Next up, if you are not feeling the spicy tomato soup and panini (which I strongly recommend), is the Board. A full spread of Steve's Cheese, local Portland meats from Olympic Provisions and house made pickles with baguette crostini.

The finale, and the one thing you should not leave the H&V without trying, is the burger. House smoked bacon, on the smoker out back, with homemade bread (the best!), aioli, butterhead lettuce, onions, a farm fresh egg, and the most delectable patty you have ever had.

A guilty pleasure!

2 Comments

Filed under Restaurants

2 responses to “The Hop & Vine ~ A Portland Gem.

  1. Lisa Finn

    The Hop & Vine is a favorite of this Midwesterner! The burger is fantabulous!!!

  2. This looks like such great food. Thanks for sharing it with us! Come visit. We have some wonderful features this week.

Leave a Reply

