Soda Replacement Project: DIY Sarsparilla Root Extract.

The hubs is still drinking soda with his cocktails, zero calorie soda no less, which is just terrible for you for a myriad of reasons. I have been trying to wean him off the stuff, but this is going to continue to prove difficult until I find a replacement that likes equally as much. I made this Cream “Soda” replacer and he really liked it, so much so that he started thinking of other replacements. Last week, while at the home brew store, he got some Sarsparilla Root, specifically Hemidesmus indicus, which is Indian Sarsparilla, which according to Wiki is from Southern Asia.

I treated it just like the vanilla extract I had made last year. I added a heaping tablespoon to a 1/2 pint jar full of vodka, put a lid on it and gave it shake. It is now sitting in my pantry waiting to be tested. I will do my first test in two weeks. This was started on January 20th, so check back on February 3rd to see how it is tasting.

Ultimately, I will use this the same way I did the vanilla to make the cream soda replacement and we will see what the hubs thinks!

1 Comment

Filed under Beverages, Dairy Free, DIY, Test Items, Vegan, Vegetarian

One response to “Soda Replacement Project: DIY Sarsparilla Root Extract.

  1. This is great! We never drink soda unless it is in our mixed “adult” drinks. I just don’t have the taste for soda anymore. I will need to give this a try. Thank you for this idea.

Leave a Reply

