February Garden Log.

I did now sow any seeds in February…which puts me a little behind from last year on my root veggies. But I did get many more starts in that were seeded in December/January this year. I hope to direct sow my root veggies the second weekend of March.

2/22: Planted chard, mustard greens, spinach and bok choi starts.

Chard (and a sneaker pea!).

Bok choi.

Mustard greens and some spinach behind it.

2/26: Updated photo of the broccoli, cauliflower and kale.

There are still a lot of starts in the house. I have a large bed waiting for them, covered and drying out. I am just waiting for the cover crop to break down a little, then they will go in.

Here is a sneak peak of them hardening off.

Purple kohlrabi, brussel sprouts, lettuce, kale, parel cabbage.

Fiesta broccoli, one single crisphead lettuce, remaining bock choi and cilantro.

Love!

6 Comments

Filed under Edible Plants, Garden

6 responses to “February Garden Log.

  1. Wow, your seedlings look amazing!! Mine never get that big before they go out. Do you have cold frames you’re planting this stuff in? Looks great!

    Amy

  2. I plant inside under lights and when they are ready to go out I have hoop houses that I have built to put them under. Agricultural grade plastic (seems to hold up much better than the painting plastic, especially here where it rains). Last year was the first year, but it worked really well.

  3. Nice! My husband built me a greenhouse this year and I can’t wait to put it to use! I plan to start sowing seeds inside this weekend. It’s much earlier than normal, but I hope the greenhouse will extend my season by a up to a month. I can’t wait to see how it goes. You’ve inspired me to get going!

  4. I sure hope they do well. It is much milder here than in MN, however, there was snow on the ground when I got up this morning! Everything in the beds looked good this afternoon though. I just make sure to only plant cold weather crops this time of year! Good luck, I can’t wait to hear how the greenhouse goes. I would love to have one!!

  5. what a great post! can’t wait to start my garden this year :)

    ~Melissa
    http://www.ChinDeep.com

  6. You have such a wonderful start. I do not have a green thumb! Boo hoo.

Leave a Reply

