My 2,000th Facebook Fan Giveaway!

How fast it goes! I cannot believe I am already doing my second giveaway. This time it is for 2,000 Facebook fans. It was only January when I was doing my first giveaway ever to celebrate 1,000 fans!

I am so appreciative of all of my readers and Facebook friends. I am so fortunate to have this community of people to talk to, learn from and teach. I feel ever grateful for every single one of you have I have met and interacted with and because of that I am going to take a moment and share some books that I have found helpful during my journey in urban homesteading.

The first book that I am going to pass along is The Urban Homestead. I first received this book as a Christmas present from my sister in law. It is a very good guide for folks that are just starting out. It gives details and organization to a lot of the ideas you may have and assists when you may be feeling overwhelmed by your new ideas and hoped-for life-style.

The second book I would like to pass along is Independence Days: A Guide to Sustainable Food Storage & Preservation.  This is such a great book for someone who has made the commitment to the homestead (urban or otherwise) and is ready to start putting up their bounty, but who also has a mind toward true food independence.

Alright, the nuts and bolts. I am going to be old fashioned about this, meaning there is just one way to enter. I will be randomly selecting the winner from the comments on this post. Please tell me why you want one, or both, of these books.

This give away will close at 9pm PST on March 24th.

Good luck!

***Disclaimer: No one asked me to chose these books. I chose them because I like them and you will too.

24 Comments

Filed under Unassigned

24 responses to “My 2,000th Facebook Fan Giveaway!

  1. Leslie Birmingham

    Both books sound like great education. But the food storage and preservation book is the one for me. As my garden gets bigger i need all the help I can get.

  2. Amy Donovan

    I would love to have the “Independence Days: A Guide to Sustainable Food Storage & Preservation” book! We built a large garden a few years ago and so in the last year I purchased a dehydrator and a pressure canner and have started learning everything I can about food preservation. There’s a lot to learn! :-)

  3. Beth C

    I Love to Garden & I Love to Cook! :)

  4. Susan Vosmik

    Thank you for the opportunity to enter your contest!!
    My husband & I are re-starting our Garden for the first time in 10 years. Somehow time has gotten away from us & last summer/fall, our neighbor showed us how to can. Now that we have discovered we LOVE to can, we decided to start the garden up again.
    Both books would be a great addition to our “library”.
    Thank you again!!!

  5. Russ S.

    Either book sounds great! We’re not really urban here, but the more ideas the better! And that goes double for food storage when you have limited storage space.

  6. I am just starting out with my big garden and need to learn all I can!!! i think both books (as well as your blog) will be extremely helpful!

  7. Em Walker

    I’d love either books, they look like a great way to continue my education! I’m building a new garden this year, redoing m yard, canning, dehydrating, raising chickens too. All as a newbie really! So, sign me up for this giveaway!

  8. Cyndi

    The Urban Homestead would be a great book for me. I want to have a veggie garden so I can have fresh food. I also want to can some.

  9. I’m quitting my job at Penn State U at the end of April to stay home and care for my 2 newly adopted Children from China… in preparation, last weekend we got 2 roosters and 10 chicks and I’ve started planning out my garden for the year. Looking forward to learning Homesteading with my kids this summer! btw… I’m the dad… =] … my wife is the bread winner so it made more sense for me to stay home than her… Be blessed! <

  10. i would love either book. i m trying to be more frugal and self sustaining in my practices and also am working with local farm to host workshops on “old fashioned” skills like canning, organic gardening, soap making, etc

    so these would be great for me to add to my library so i cn pss the knowledge on to others :)

  11. Lisa Smith

    Thank you so much for the chance to have both these books. My husband and I are avid canners/preservers, but always looking to get better and for new ideas. Our dream is to one day be able to afford a small plot of land to start our own little homestead. I think the fist book would provide a much needed insight for us. Thank you again.

  12. Meg Hobbs

    I’d love to read The Urban Homestead, jot down what’s meaningful to me in my effort to be more self-sufficient, then pack it away in August with my 18 year old son to start the beginning of his life out on his own. Thanks for the great blog!

  13. Congratulations on your 2000 fans! I would like win the urban homesteading book because I have already converted my front yard into vegetable gardens, and I am ready to turn most of my back yard into garden space as well. But I could really use some guidance in planning my space and what to plant.

  14. Congrats on 2,000 fans! I’m not urban so I would like Independence Days: A Guide to Sustainable Food Storage & Preservation! This is my first year on the farm and my first year preserving food as well!

  15. oooh! congratulations on your 2000th follower! (lucky & talented bitch;)).

    i would like the first book because it may help to alleviate the overwhelmedness (is that a word?) i feel about trying to become a better urban homesteader; i’d like the second one because preserving & storing food to me, is a key ingredient (see what i did there?) in creating a sovereign food system. I’d love to learn more about it!

  16. Joann Mcgregor

    would love to have the Independence Days: A Guide to Sustainable Food Storage & Preservation. I canned and put up a great deal of food, sauce, pickles,jams,jellys, veggies, etc..then my life changed, passed on my canner to a young man -friend of son whom began putting up his meat…now freezing and just know it’s back to canning..100% organic garden this year…and going to put up more this year. Congradulations on 2000..thanks for the great info you pass on, Life Is Good- have a wonderful evening!

  17. I grew up in a very self sufficient family environment yet sadly have lost touch with that mind set over the years. I am in the process of trying to reconnect with those roots and to those skills. I’m very much enjoying the ideas and inspiration from your page and blog!

    These books would be well loved and well used.

  18. Sarah Blake

    I’d love the first book! I don’t live in a city, but I also don’t have the biggest space and we don’t have a yard so I think this book would teach me a thing or two!

  19. BullFrog Springs

    Great news that you have got as far as you have. You help me out all the time and thank you for that. I would love both books, but really looking at the second as I need to learn more about preserving food.

  20. Debi Marti

    I am starting a big garden this year and want to learn to do it so I can feed my husband and I and my daughter’s family with good non GMO food. I’m learning to can, freeze and dry foods. I think your books would be a wonderful help!

  21. Vickie Harrell

    Because I’m am trying to learn everything I can about Self sufficiency. These tools will help me with that ! I am new to all of this…and I want to absorb all that I can like a sponge. I also know that anything could happen to the power grid…So I am starting my own little library…These books would be a wonderful addition as well as being a useful tool. My family would really appreciate these….Thank you !

  22. I think both are going to be super valuable to a homesteader but if I had to pick it would be the food preservation and storage book. I can and dehydrate but I’m always concerned that I’ll poison the family so more instruction would be good. :-)

  23. We’ll I won’t turn down books that provide me with new skills:) And, I’m kind a obsessed with canning…

  24. sharon barry

    I would love to win these books. We started gardening last year (in a side yard). Froze some veggies, but either ate or gave away the rest. Would love to start canning also