Offal with Grandma: Chicken Hearts & Gizzards.

This is a recipe I have always wanted to try. I remember having it at Grandma’s house growing up and watching all of my uncles fight over the hearts! I have watched my Grandma make this, but I do not have a recipe for it. So this is my best guess at her ingredient list and cooking process from what I can remember. I was really happy with the flavor and texture of the meat and think I did an ok job replicating what I remember from my childhood.

Chicken Hearts & Gizzards. 

Ingredients

4 oz unsalted butter

2 lbs chicken hearts and gizzards

1 medium onion

1/2 t kosher salt

1/4 t fresh cracked black pepper

1.5 C water

Process

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Clean gizzards, making sure to remove any tough yellow membrane that still might be on them. Chop onion into larger pieces.

Melt butter in a large stock pot or roaster over medium heat. Add meat and onions, season with salt and pepper and brown for 5-10 minutes, stirring frequently.

Add water, you may need more or less that the cup and a half. You just want to barely cover the meat. Put stock pot in oven for 2 – 2.5 hours, or until soft. Serve hot with your favorite sides.

Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Chicken, Midwest Inspired, Poultry

2 responses to “Offal with Grandma: Chicken Hearts & Gizzards.

  1. carolinaheartstrings

    Great minds think alike. I am posting a recipe from my grandmother this month too. Chicken livers and rice! Yours looks yummy.

  2. I am excited for yours!! I love pate, but I have not had chicken liver any other way. I will watch for your recipe!

Leave a Reply

