Cauliflower Almond Pizza Crust {Updated}.

IMG_2362

Yes, there are a lot of these crusts out there. Yes, I have made several attempts at making a version of this crust. Yes, I finally got one. And I like it. I even perfected it before I ran out of garden cauliflower, which is a total score in my book.

So you all know (maybe) by now that I have officially gone off gluten. That has also included most other grains because they are so processed they completely lack fiber and other nutritional values. That said, I will still eat myself some processed gluten free grains on occasion, however, I am striving to make my food as whole and complete as possible. In my book this recipe completes that cycle. It is grain free, gluten free, dairy free and chock full of nuts and veggies. Hello! Yum!

I found the original recipe inspiration for this post here. But the flavor profile wasn’t busty enough for me. I have altered it into what you will find below. I am a big flavor kind of girl, you have to take those bursts and gobble them up!

Cauliflower Almond Pizza Crust. Makes one large pizza or two small/mediums.

Ingredients

2 C shredded organic cauliflower (I used the shredder on the food processor, but you can use a cheese grater) (after watching this video, I am now using a blender!)

1 C almond flour or fine meal, packed

1 T kosher or sea salt (less depending on how salty your sea salt is)

1/2 t fresh cracked black pepper

1 t baking powder

1 t granulated garlic

1 t granulated onion

1 T fresh thyme or 1 t dried thyme (or whatever herb you like…rosemary will pack a nice punch)

1/4 t red pepper flake (optional)

3 T nutritional yeast, heaping (optional) — if you omit the yeast and find the crust too wet, add some more almond flour (this will depend on how wet your cauliflower is)

3 eggs (free range pastured if possible)

Process

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. If you are using a pizza or baking stone, put this in for the preheat.

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Add eggs and mix to a smooth sticky mixture. Now, there are couple of ways you can spread this dough. You can use parchment paper on a baking sheet, or you can use a silpat. I prefer the silpat method.

Dump the dough into the middle of your silpat, get your hands wet with water and starting in the middle of the blob, slowly spread the dough out. You want it to be about 1/4 inch thick. Just keep working it to the edge of the surface. **Note, if you are going to make two pizzas, only do this with half at a time!

Once the dough is spread out, lift the silpat onto the pizza stone and bake for 15 minutes. Prepare your favorite toppings.

Carefully remove crust from the oven and build your pizza. Return the pizza to the oven for 8-10 minutes longer, or until your cheese (if using) is your ideal version of bubbly! Cool enough to cut and dig in.

Enjoy!

5 Comments

Filed under Dairy Free, Eggs, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Nuts/Seeds, Pizza, Vegetables, Vegetarian

5 responses to “Cauliflower Almond Pizza Crust {Updated}.

  1. Almond and cauliflower?? Genius =) Definitely will have to try this sometime. Warm gluten free wishes!

  2. This looks wonderful! I’m not off gluten but I take regular breaks from it. My body always seems happier.

  3. ~Misty

    What does the nutritional yeast do (binder)? What would be a substitute or does it need one, could I just leave it out?

  4. You can just leave it out. It add nutritional value, but it is not necessary. I like to add it for the high levels of B12.

  5. Since this holds strong and you can pick it up, you can just pretend it has wheat flour in it :)

Leave a Reply

