Sweet Potato Texas Caviar.

Both black eyed peas and sweet potatoes are things that I have had to come to terms with. I did not like either during most of my life, but I have embraced them both. Texas caviar was my first introduction to black eyed peas. And you what, I like it! Sweet potatoes I am still a little hesitant about. But got it into my head that I was going to replace the black beans in traditional Texas caviar with them and you know what? It worked. The combination of all of the flavors cuts the overt sweetness that you sometimes get with sweet potatoes. In all, this was a fantastic side (can also be served as a dip with chips) to Serrano/garlic burgers and grilled sweet corn. It’s also super quick and easy to whip up.

Sweet Potato Texas Caviar. Serves 4.

Ingredients

2 sweet potatoes

1 can of black eyed peas, drained and rinsed

2 T cilantro, chopped

1 medium red onion, chopped

1 large bell pepper, chopped

1 jalapeño, seeded and chopped

1 t kosher salt

1/2 t fresh cracked black pepper

1/4 C apple cider vinegar (I used Bragg’s)

1 T agave or honey

juice of 1/2 lime

2 T olive oil

Process

Peel and dice potatoes into 1/4-1/2 inch pieces. Cover with water and boil over high for 8-12 minutes, until the potatoes are tender but not mushy. Remove from heat, strain and run cold water over potatoes to stop the cooking process.

While the potato boil, combine beans, cilantro, onion and peppers in a medium bowl. Add potatoes when cooled and mix.

To make sauce combine remaining ingredients, except the olive oil, in a bowl and whisk well. Add oil slowly, whisking the entire time to emulsify the sauce. Add to the bean and potato mixture. Mix to combine.

Refrigerate for at least an hour before serving.

***A note! I was thinking of adding corn to this, but I did not because we had corn on the cob with our meal, but I am going to do this next time!! Let me know if you try it out and love it :)

Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Appetizer, Beans, Dairy Free, Dip, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Potatoes, Side Dish, Vegetarian

One response to “Sweet Potato Texas Caviar.

  1. What a wonderful idea. It looks fantastic. Great use of Southern favorites.

Leave a Reply

