Smoky Kale and White Bean Soup.

smoky kale and white beanOver the last few months we have been perfecting this recipe. It has been a lot of fun because this soup is so good. This is a great winter weather dish, not only because it is soup and delightfully warm, but also because it really features the veggies you may have in your winter storage or still in the garden and greens you may be growing in your greenhouse or even outside depending on where you winter! It is also full of protein and stars my favorite healthy powerhouse: kale! Because this soup is so healthy and full of fiber we do not feel too guilty about pairing it with our favorite gluten free cheese bread that completely lacks nutritional value but tastes oh so good with a steamy bowl of soup (you can find a very easy recipe here, that we make with grass fed aged white cheddar cheese).

Smoky Kale and White Bean Soup. Makes 4-6 bowls.

Ingredients

2 tablespoons oil, coconut or olive

1 small onion, diced

2 large carrots, peeled (if you choose) and diced

3 large cloves of garlic, smashed and chopped

8 oz kale, chopped, stems and leaves separated (we use lacinato)

1 quart of smoked chicken stock (if you only make/have regular chicken stock use that plus one smoked ham hock, but be aware you will need to remove the fat, omit the ham, and shred the ham in the hock once softened, I have made it this way twice and it is fantastic, just more work — simmer ham hock in stock until softened and smoky flavor is imparted into the dish, about 2 hours)

1 quart of water

2 cups chopped ham or the meat from the ham hock if using that (we like using a lightly smoked fresh ham)

1 can of cannellini beans (BPA free) or equivalent soaked

sea salt and fresh cracked black pepper as needed to taste (your salt needs will vary based on your stock and ham choices)

Process

Melt coconut oil over medium heat in a 3 quart stock pot. Add onions and carrots and sauté for 10 minutes. Add garlic and kale stems and cook for about 5 more minutes, until carrots and stems are softened. Add kale leaves and cook 2 – 4 minutes, until leaves are tender but not over cooked (unless you like your kale very soft, then you will want to keep going here until the desired doneness is reached). Add stock and water and bring just to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and add remaining ingredients. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Heat through and serve.

Enjoy!

5 Comments

Filed under Beans, Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Pork, Soup/Stew

5 responses to “Smoky Kale and White Bean Soup.

  1. carolinaheartstrings

    That looks so yummy. I have never cooked with kale, now is the time to start.

  2. You most definitely should!!

  3. Hi Becky, long time, no see! Thought I would let you know I tried this tonight. I didn’t have ham, so I used about 12 ounces of sliced pre-cooked bratwurst (Yes, I’m a fatty.) Turned out great. I guestimated the kale and used four carrots, because I like more of a “stoup”. I think next time I would also double the beans. Thanks for the inspiration. I made the cheese bread, too. My first time with tapioca flour. It got everywhere in my kitchen, but the dough is otherwise so easy to make and a tasty, cheesy result. :-)

  4. Eric is really excited to make me try it with bratwurst! If you make the soup again, or any veggie bean soup let me know how it goes with two cans of beans. I was thinking two cans might be better, but did not want to overdo it.

    Yay! I am so glad you made the cheese bread. I am addicted to it. And I have the same problem with the messy tapioca starch. I cannot get the stuff out without getting it on absolutely everything, including myself, it is just so fine grained.

    Thanks for trying out the recipe and sharing your pointers. Perhaps if you come up to see your brother we can have you cook for us :)

  5. Will let you know about the beans, next time! I bet you could also use a smoked sausage instead of bratwurst for even more inexpensive version. Definitely need to visit Portland, soon!

Leave a Reply

