2014 – February Garden Log.

mizuna Late. Behind. Lagging. These are words that are starting to best describe my 2014 garden season and it is only February! As per usual when I get to doing something later than I had wanted to, I proceed the way I would have if I had been on time. I am an optimist when it comes to throwing seeds in dirt. So despite being very behind is planting for the 2014 spring garden, I planted everything, all the same. But a note to myself in 2015 and any other readers in my planting zone, skip the 2014 early year posts and refer to 2013 for what is likely a better more productive timeline (unless it ends up all the same, then I will have to make a change to this paragraph).

So onward, because I did actually do some stuff in the garden this month after the snow.

February Snow

2/16: Started hardening off all perviously planted starts that would eventually go outside. Also turned/weeded beds that would be the new homes for these plants and cloched them to dry out a bit before planting.

2/23: FINALLY planting something in the dirt!! All December and January starts went into the ground next to some kale and spinach planted in the fall, except the romaine lettuce. We simply kept that in the house for easy access. We also direct sowed some seeds into one of the beds; Alaska peas, shelling (Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds), Monstrueux de Viroflay spinach (Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds), Ideal purple top Milan turnips (Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds), and Saxa II radish (Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds).

2014 first planting

2/25: This is the latest (and terribly embarrassing) sowing of these seeds I think I have done! I had intentions of planting onions early and as my artichokes were lost during our very long zero degree cold snap in December, I had planned on getting those sown early as well. BUT, they were all sown today with the spring veg I should have planted last month! So here is what we have Giant of Naples (Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds), Calabrese broccoli (Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds), Genovese basil (Seed Savers Exchange), Early purple Vienna kohlrabi (Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds), and yellow of Parma (Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds). And new to the garden: Wethersfield red onion (Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds), red romaine lettuce (Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds), red express cabbage (Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds), Glory of Enkhuizen cabbage (Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds), green globe artichokes (Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds), and bleu if Solaise leek (Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds). And to all of that, here’s hoping as I hole up my glass with a look of chagrin on my face.

My plan for early March is to get my snow peas into the ground outside and to plant some more shelling peas. I will also sow some more radishes and get some carrots and beets in the ground. The last of the fall carrots are coming out of the garden, some are still edible, some were destroyed by the early February snow and ice storm. I will also be broadcasting some arugula and mizuna outside, I just have to decide where. Oh and more chard needs to be planted! For inside starts we have tomatoes and peppers on the docket as well as more herbs and lots of flowers!

Happy planting!!

1 Comment

Filed under Edible Plants

One response to “2014 – February Garden Log.

  1. Hey Becky, Hope you’re feeling okay! Miss you posting!

Leave a comment